About CENDI — Members

Agriculture Commerce Defense Education Energy EPA GPO
Health & Human
Services
Interior LOC NARA NASA NSF Transportation
Secretariat
Agency Representatives

Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library (NAL), Beltsville, MD
NAL is the principal U.S. source for food, agriculture, and natural resources information. The Library's expert staff, leadership in information services and technology applications, collection of over 3.5 million items in more than 75 languages, AGRICOLA bibliographic database of more than 4 million citations, and engagement with agricultural research and information organizations in other countries make it the world's foremost agricultural library. NAL maintains more than 30,000 Web pages and provides more than 40 million direct customer services each year.

Eleanor Frierson (principal)
Deputy Director, NAL
eleanor.frierson@ars.usda.gov

Christopher Cole (alternate)
Associate Director for Technical Services
christopher.cole@ars.usda.gov

Department of Commerce, National Technical Information Service, Springfield, VA
NTIS is the U.S. government's largest permanent central repository and primary public disseminator of government STI and related business information from multiple U.S. agencies and international sources. The collection includes 3 million technical reports, computer products, multimedia training materials, etc. NTIS provides access to this information through a wide range of products and services, including online vendor systems and the NTIS Web site. NTIS offers electronic downloading of full-text technical reports directly from its Web site or through a link to the originating agency's Web site.

Donald Hagen (principal)
Associate Director
Office of Product and Program Management
dhagen@ntis.gov

Wayne Strickland (alternate)
Manager, Program and Product Management
wstrickland@ntis.gov

Department of Defense, Defense Technical Information Center, Fort Belvoir, VA
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) is the premier provider of Department of Defense (DoD) scientific and technical information and supports DoD research, development and engineering programs.  DTIC's collections include more than two million technical reports, summaries of research in progress, independent research and development information, defense technology transfer agreements, and DoD planning documents.  Administratively, DTIC manages nine DoD Information Analysis Centers that analyze and disseminate scientific and technical information in specialized fields or subject areas.  In addition, DTIC hosts more than 100 Web sites for other Defense programs.  A DoD Field Activity in the office of the Under Secretary of Defense (Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics), DTIC reports to the Director, Defense Research and Engineering (DDR&E). 

R. Paul Ryan (principal)
Administrator
ryan@dtic.mil

Roberta Schoen (alternate)
Director of Operations
rschoen@dtic.mil

Department of Education, National Library of Education, Washington, DC
NLE, the central location for education information within the federal government, provides comprehensive reference service, electronic database search and retrieval, document delivery, interlibrary loan, etc. NLE manages the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), the world's largest education database, which includes a network of 16 subject-specific clearinghouses and support services.

Christina Dunn (principal)
Director
christina.dunn@ed.gov

Luna Levinson (alternate)
Director, ERIC Program
luna.levinson@ed.gov

Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information, Washington, DC, and Oak Ridge, TN
OSTI leads the Department’s e-government initiatives for disseminating R&D results. OSTI performs this critical role by providing electronic access to worldwide energy STI both nationally and internationally. Access is provided through a set of cutting-edge, Web-based products for technical reports, scientific journals, and preprints – the three main STI sources. In addition, OSTI produces an inventory of R&D projects in progress across the Department.

Dr. Walter Warnick (principal)
Director
walter.warnick@science.doe.gov or
warnickw@osti.gov

Sharon Jordan (alternate)
Assistant Director
jordans@osti.gov

Department of Health and Human Services, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD
NLM, the world's largest biomedical sciences library, has more than 6 million items. Its largest database, MEDLINE, contains 12 million references and abstracts to medical journal articles. MEDLINEplus is a Web-based service with extensive consumer health information. The Visible Human Project is one of many programs NLM supports to apply the benefits of modern technologies to medical research, education, and health care.

Dr. Elliot R. Siegel (principal)
Associate Director
Health Information Programs Development
siegel@nlm.nih.gov

Betsy L. Humphreys (alternate)
Deputy Director
betsy_humphreys@nlm.nih.gov

Department of the Interior, USGS/Biological Resources Discipline, Reston, VA
USGS, the U.S. Geological Survey, is the nation's premier natural science and information agency. The Biological Informatics Office leads the development of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII), a network of distributed databases and information sources on biological resources, and acts as a clearinghouse for biological information. NBII serves as the official U.S. representative to international, hemispheric, and global biodiversity informatics activities.

Gladys A. Cotter (principal)
Associate Chief Biologist
of Information
USGS Biological Resources Discipline
Gladys_Cotter@usgs.gov

TBD (alternate)

Department of Transportation. National Transportation Library Washington, DC
DOT NTL's mission is to facilitate and improve timely access to transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer information.  The NTL offers reference services, a 40,000-item digital repository and 100,000-item physical collection, and a web portal.  NTL developed and maintains unique research tools including the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) and TLCat, a group catalog in WorldCat for transportation libraries' physical and online collections. NTL networks with other transportation libraries, agencies, and organizations to increase access to information and expand opportunities for the professional development of transportation librarians. Networking activities include the Transportation Knowledge Networks and the Transportation Librarians Roundtable, a monthly web conference series.

Amanda Wilson (principal)
Director
National Transportation Library
Amanda.Wilson@dot.gov

David Jones (alternate)
Reference Librarian
National Transportation Library
david.jones@dot.gov

Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research and Development and the Office of Environmental Information, Washington, DC
EPA’s Office of Research and Development (ORD) advances Agency goals by providing sound science for environmental decision making. EPA's Office of Environmental Information (OEI) supports the Agency's mission to protect public health and the environment by integrating quality environmental information for informing decisions, improving management, documenting performance, and measuring success. ORD and OEI are developing strategies, architectures, and implementing systems to manage EPA's environmental science information, data, and tools.

Dr. Charlotte Cottrill (principal)
Office of Environmental Information
cottrill.charlotte@epamail.epa.gov

Jack Puzak (principal)
Director, Office of Science Information
puzak.jack@epamail.epa.gov

Dr. Robert Shepanek (alternate)
Information Management & Technology
Office of Research and Development
shepanek.robert@epa.gov

Library of Congress, Washington, DC
The Library of Congress, an agency of the Legislative Branch, is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library's mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations.

Deborah Ozga (principal)
Special Detail Consortia Coordinator, FLICC/FEDLINK
Library of Congress
dozga@loc.gov

Glenn Gardner (alternate)
Digital Projects Coordinator
ggar@loc.gov

National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Scientific and Technical Information Program, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA
NASA has been dedicated to the advancement of aeronautics and aerospace science since its inception in 1958. The NASA STI Program provides access to NASA's STI output through various targeted databases, such as the STI database (the world's largest collection of aeronautical and aerospace information), the NASA Image eXchange (a metasearch engine that accesses NASA's imagery), and the NACA (National Advisory Committee of Aeronautics, NASA's predecessor organization) collection of technical reports.

George Roncaglia (principal)
Program Manager
STI Program
george.j.roncaglia@nasa.gov

Gerald Steeman (alternate)
Gerald.steeman@nasa.gov

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), Washington, DC
NARA is an independent agency that safeguards records of the Federal Government and ensures that Federal officials and the American public have access to records that document the rights of citizens, the actions of government officials, and the national experience. NARA has a national network of archives and records services facilities, and Presidential libraries back to Herbert Hoover. NARA publishes the Federal Register, administers the Information Security Oversight Office, and funds grants through the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.

Lisa Weber (principal)
Director, Information Technology Policy and Administration Division
lisa.weber@nara.gov

Rebecca Warlow (alternate)
Archives Specialist, Office of Planning and Policy
rebecca.warlow@nara.gov

National Science Foundation (NSF), Arlington, VA
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent agency of the U.S. Government, established by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950. The Act established the NSF's mission: To promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; and to secure the national defense.The National Science Foundation initiates and supports grants of scientific and engineering research programs, and serves as a central clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, and analysis of data on scientific and technical resources in the United States. The NSF is also a source of information for policy formulation by other Federal agencies.

Dr. Philip Bogden (principal)
Program Director of the Office of Cyberinfrastructure
pbogden@nsf.gov

Tina Gheen (alternate)
Library Director
tgheen@nsf.gov

U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC
GPO provides printing and information dissemination for the entire Federal community. Today, after more than a generation's experience with electronic printing systems, GPO is providing Government information in a wide range of formats, including print, microfiche, CD-ROM, and online through www.gpoaccess.gov. GPO also administers the Federal Depository Library Program, the public's primary source of free access to Federal Government information. In addition, GPO makes selected Government publications available for sale to the public via the U.S. Government Online Bookstore.

Cynthia Etkin (principal)
Sr. Program Planning Specialist
cetkin@gpo.gov

Ted Priebe (alternate)
Director, Library Planning & Development
tpriebe@gpo.gov

CENDI Secretariat

Bonnie C. Carroll
Executive Director
bcarroll@iiaweb.com
(865) 298-1220

Gail Hodge
Technical Projects Coordinator
ghodge@iiaweb.com
(865) 742-5430

Kathryn Holloway
Administrative Coordinator
kholloway@iiaweb.com
(865) 298-1234



Wik portal where you can upload your ideas and interests and educational mind set for a free website account please apply here